Lees Named 2nd Team CIS All-Star

Lees Named 2nd Team CIS All-Star

(TORONTO, ON) - (CIS) - Cam Hundal, a fifth-year midfielder from the University of Victoria, was named the CIS player of the year in men’s soccer, Wednesday evening.

The native of Terrace, B.C., became the first UVic player to earn the Joe Johnson Memorial Trophy.

Other national award winners announced during the All-Canadian Gala were UQAM goalkeeper Valentin Lamoulie, who received the Lou Bilek Award as rookie of the year; Dalhousie midfielder Sangmuk Choi, who claimed the Student-Athlete Community Service Award; and UQAM’s Christophe Dutarte, who was voted coach of the year.

The 2015 CIS championship kicks off Thursday at York University and concludes Sunday with the gold-medal final at 2PM Eastern. All 11 matches from the eight-team tournament will be webcast live on CIS-SIC.tv.

Official championship website: http://english.cis-sic.ca/championships/msoc/index

The all-Canadian teams were also announced on Wednesday.
Joining CIS player of the year Cam Hundal and conference MVPs Justin Maheu, James Louis-Jeune and Raheem Rose on the first team were UBC goalkeeper Chad Bush, defenders Andrew Snyder of Acadia, Maxime Leconte of UQAM and Sandro Rajkovic of Cape Breton, midfielders Guillaume Comptois-Noël of UQTR and Jonathan Lao of York, as well as Windsor striker Leighton Speechley-Price.
Maheu (2014 – first team), Leconte (2014 – second), Rajkovic (2014 & 2013 – first) and Lao (2014 – second / 2013 – first) are all repeat all-Canadians. Maheu was the CIS player of the year last season.
In addition to CIS rookie of the year Valentin Lamoulie, the second unit for 2015 is comprised of defenders Lukas MacNaughton of Toronto, Niko Saler of Alberta, Tyrone Downes of York and Alexandre Haddad of Montreal, midfielders Charles Arsenault of Laval, Marcus Lees of UNB and Martin Dabrowski of Ryerson, as well as strikers Gagandeep Dosanjh of UBC, Bezick Evraire of Dalhousie and Dominic Russo of Calgary.
Haddad (2013 & 2011 – second), Lees (2014 – second), Dabrowski (2014 – second), Dosanjh (2012 – first) and Evraire (2013 – second) had been honoured at the national level in previous years.